Scintillation Detector Principle

Jan 2020
Vienna
Hello everyone, I'm studying for a radiochemistry exam (MSc. in Chemistry) and I have a probably silly question to the principle of detection of ionizing radiation (for example in a scintillation detector, but same applies for an ionization chamber etc.).

If I understand it correctly, the way a scintillation detector can distinguish between for example a 100 keV gamma and 200 keV gamma is based on the different pulse heights of the electric potential pulse generated by the photomultiplier (PMT). As a trivial (numerically incorrect) example - a single 100 keV γ-photon generates 1000 photons of visible light inside the scintillator, which lead to a 1 mV pulse in PMT whereas a single 200 keV γ-photon generates 2000 photons of visible light which lead to a 2 mV pulse in PMT. Now if we measure over a longer time period (with many 100 and 200 keV photons striking the scintillator) and we count the corresponding pulses, we obtain a spectrum, in which the x-axis is the pulse height = radiation energy and y-axis is the pulse count = radiation intensity - so we get two signals, at 100 and 200 keV with corresponding intensities.