Ideal Ball weight to get the maximum range from a ball launcher?

Jan 2020
rabat
Hello guys,

i am building a ball launcher to proper a line of baits into the sea, the line has 25 baits, each bait weights 30 grams (about 1oz), ideal shooting degree seems to be 45 to get maximum range, What i would like to figure out is the ideal weight of the ball to achieve the greatest possible distance.

Here is an illustration of what I want to do:
Drawing.png

Many thanks for your help.

Jun 2016
England
The weight of the ball is less important than the force at which you propel it.

Jan 2020
rabat
Hi woody, thank you for your reply, it's true that force is more important, but since the catapult force is limited, i need to get the most out of the available force, every extra distance that I gain is important, i am a newbie when it comes to physics, but it seems to me that there should be an ideal weight, or a way to calculate it, too small and maybe it will be slowed easily by air and the line of bait it is pulling, then if it's too big it won't go far in the first place, so some weight in the middle, how to calculate that weight ?

Many thanks

Apr 2017
This is not easy ... biggest unknown is the pull back on the ball ... how smoothly the line plays out ...

750 gms of bait ..... I would think you need about the same mass in the ball ...

Elastic catapult is not the option I would go for , difficult to get enough energy stored in the elastic ....

An easy way must be to swing the ball around your head to build up momentum , then fling it like a hammer thrower in the Olympics

High tech I would get an electric car tyre inflator and a battery... using plastic water piping of various sizes make a reservoir tank to hold the air at 100psi ...an electric air switch allows the gas to be dumped into a long 2" tube firing the ball . This will go VERY far!